Eastern States Collegiate Hockey League Powered by Goalline Sports Administration Software

Delaware defeats Oakland, 5-1, to capture first ACHA National Championship


Delaware raises The Murdoch Cup for the first time in school history. (photo Matt Bliss)

Delaware completed their run through three of the last four National Champions, defeating Oakland 5-1.

The Unviersity of Delaware defeated Oakland University 5-1 to capture their first ACHA DI National Championship.

The Blue Hens scored the first four goals of the game to stake an insurrmountable lead over the Grizzlies. Michael Piet opened the scoring for Delaware just 1:03 into the game. Christian Tasker added to the lead with seven minutes remaining on an impressive individual play and the Blue Hens entered the first intermission with a 2-0 lead.

Tasker's goal would go down as the deciding tally. Christopher Volonnino added to the lead in the second period and Connor Moore scored the fourth goal for the Blue Hens, ending any doubts of an Oakland comeback.

Oakland's lone tally came from their hero in the semi-finals, Jordan McDonald. McDonald's four-goal effort elevated the Grizzlies to yesterday's final. He put the Grizzlies on the board with 7:38 remaining in the third period.

Delaware's S.J. Broadt played yet another impressive game for the Blue Hens. Broadt's play was a major reason for holding Oakland to one goal. He captured tournament MVP honors for his play.

Delaware's road to the final included victories over three of the last four ACHA champions. That included yesterday's victory over Oakland, the 2007 National Champion. The Blue Hens also triumphed over Lindenwood ('08 and '09) and last year's champion, Davenport. Delaware became the first team to beat Davenport in a ACHA National Tournament since the 2007 ACHA DII National Tournament. Davenport had won three-straight DII titles prior to last year's DI championship.

Delaware will look to defend their title at next year's National Tournament which will be hosted in Bensenville, IL by Robert Morris University (IL).

Goalline Sports Administration Systems
Powered by Goalline Hockey Software